The SHOW – Dec 1, 2007

Inaugural art show, featuring more than 30 local artists, to open December 1, 2007

Birmingham, Ala., Nov. 15
– The Birmingham Art Collective today announced plans for a large art and music show to take place Dec. 1 at 7 PM at Matthew’s Bar and Grill, 2208 Morris Ave., Birmingham. Called “The Show,” the event will feature more than 30 Birmingham-area artists exhibiting work in styles from painting and photography to installation art and poetry. Also scheduled are local bands Andy’s Tea Party, Handwritten Letters, The Monarchs, The Triceratops, and DJs DJ Nastique and DJ Rashido.

The goal of “The Show” is to gain recognition for the talented young artists working in the Birmingham area.

“I saw a need in the young Birmingham art community for a uniting force among artists,” says show co-organizer and Birmingham Art Collective founder and exhibitor Sara Cannon. “It saddened me that the majority of creative talent eventually leaves the city of Birmingham because of the difficulties associated with ‘making it’ here.”

“The Show” will be the Birmingham Art Collective’s first public event. Scheduled artists include glassblower Sam Cornman, sculptor Charles Amos Horn, photographer Caleb Chancey. The Birmingham Art Collective welcomes any interested artist to sign up to exhibit at the event before November 16 by contacting Cannon at

Some of the art on display will be for sale, though it is up to the exhibiting artists to negotiate sales. The Birmingham Art Collective will not collect any proceeds from sales.

For more information, visit

About The Birmingham Art Collective

Founded in May 2007, The Birmingham Art Collective exists to help artists, designers, photographers, writers, musicians, actors, and others in the creative field in Birmingham promote themselves and their work. It also provides a place for them to network and find an outlet to show their work. The organization’s membership currently numbers well over 100, and the Collective is actively involved with recruiting new members both online and off. The Collective’s board of directors consists of Sara Cannon, Charles Amos Horn, Garrett Davis, and Seth Persons.

the show


Adam Bodine
Adam Stoves
Amos Jasper Wright
Amy McClure
Andrew Thomas Clifton
Andrew Thomson
Ashley Gorman
Bob Miller
Booth Willson
Caleb Chancey
Charlene Dy
Charles Amos Horn
Christian Echeverri
Christopher Bayerle
Corinna Brewer
D’Ana Rios
Daniel Mitchell
Eric Holsomback
Erin Clyburn
Garrett Davis
Holly Rodricks
Jamison Harper
Jason Burgess
JD Wilson
Joanna Holloway
Justin Paul Russell
Krysta Parsons
Nathan Pocus
Paige Larson
Paul Bryant
Rebecca Schiffman
Sam Cornman
Sara Cannon
Stephen DeVries
Susan Dennis
Usen Gandara
Daniel Mitchell